Main Content

Where is The National Forest?

Embracing 200 square miles of the Midlands, The National Forest is taking root in the heart of England across parts of Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Staffordshire. It is transforming the landscape with the aim of linking the two ancient Forests of Charnwood on its Eastern fringe with Needwood Forest to its West.

National Forest Location

Note - Click on image to enlarge

Within its boundary are miles of rolling farmland and a former coalfield which was in urgent need of regeneration. Forest towns and villages include Burton upon Trent (famous for its brewing), Coalville and Swadlincote (formerly associated with the coal mining industry) and the historic town of Ashby de la Zouch.


Note - Click on images to enlarge