Main Content

Charnwood Noon Column

Map of the Noon Columns in The National Forest Charnwood Noon Column Needwood & South Derbyshire Claylands Noon Column The Trent Valley Noon Column The Mease and Sence Noon Column Melbourne Parklands Noon Column The Leicestershire & South Derbyshire Noon Column


Charnwood Noon Column

Charnwood has rugged, upland character with many exposed crags and rocky knolls, and heathland is a feature of the open summits. Remnants of the former ancient forest create a strongly wooded character with many ancient woodlands, parklands and scattered hedgerow trees. Stone field walls are distinctive in the upland landscape, with hedged fields a feature of the lower slopes. Locally quarried stone including the famous ‘Swithland Slate’ give the vernacular architecture of the area a unified and distinctive building style.

Charnwood Noon Column

OS map of Charnwood area where Column 6 is located

Part of the National Forest Company’s LANDshapes project, this Noon Column is made of English Oak, the sun will shine through the vertical slot for 10-15 minutes at ‘true’ noon on midsummer and midwinter’s days, creating a line of light in the shadow cast by the column. ‘True noon’ in the Charnwood Zone occurs at 1.03pm in summer time and 12.03pm in wintertime. This cycle links the sculpture to the passage of time – celebrating the past, present and future of the Forest.

Created by internationally renowned artist David Nash, this sculpture designed in an organic rising form sits beside a section of dry-stone wall built by local volunteers capturing the rugged upland character of the Charnwood Landscape. The sculpture is one of six that reflect and interpret the distinctive nature of the six landscape zones that make up The National Forest.

The six Noon Columns have been supported by:

 Arts Council England logo Jaguar Cars Ltd logo British Waterways logo Viv Astling - National Forest Company, Chairman 1998-2005