NFC|
Main Content

Local Authorities

Young trees in protective tubes

Local authorities include County, District, Borough and Parish Councils. Contacts for County and District Councils are listed below. The Local District/Borough Council should be the first point of call for Parish Council addresses and contacts.

Local authorities are enabled to take on sites where the financial arrangements are satisfactory to them. This is likely to be subject to them agreeing commuted sums or other funding for the implementation and long term maintenance of sites.

Certain local authorities may only be willing to take on sites under circumstances that are particular to them.

For example:

  • Leicestershire County Council has developed 253 hectares as contributions towards The National Forest but is not now actively seeking to acquire new sites other than in limited circumstances including sensible additions to existing larger Country Parks or where there would be significant public access gains.
  • Derbyshire County Council and Staffordshire County Council are also not actively seeking to add to their portfolio of sites, but might be interested where new sites offer significant public access and/or biodiversity gain.

Contacts:

Staffordshire County Council
Development Services Directorate
Riverway
Stafford ST16 3TJ

Contact: Ms Noreen Moore
Tel: 01785 277240
Email: noreen.moore@staffordshire.gov.uk

Leicestershire County Council
County Hall
Glenfield
Leicester LE3 8RJ

Contact (land acquisition): Mr Bill Carter
Tel: 0116 305 7936
Email: bill.carter@leics.gov.uk

Contact (green infrastructure): Tony Lockley
Tel: 0116 305 7057
Email: tony.lockley@leics.gov.uk

Derbyshire County Council
Shand House
Dale Road South
Matlock
Derbyshire DE4 3RY

Contact: Mr Richard Taylor
Tel: 01629 539658
Email: richard.taylor@derbyshire.gov.uk

Charnwood Borough Council
Southfields
Loughborough
Leicestershire LE11 2TX

Contact: Mr Richard Brown
Tel: 01509 634761
Email: richard.brown@charnwood.gov.uk

East Staffordshire Borough Council
Town Hall
Burton upon Trent
Staffordshire DE14 2EB

Contact: Mr Philip Somerfield
Tel: 01283 508000
Email: philip.somerfield@eaststaffs.gov.uk

North West Leicestershire District Council
Council Offices
Coalville
Leicestershire LE67 3FJ

Contact: Mr Chris Elston
Tel: 01530 454668
Email: chris.elston@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council
Council Offices
Argents Mead
Hinckley
Leicestershire
LE10 1BZ

Contact: Mrs Caroline Roffey
Tel: 01455 238141
Email: caroline.roffey@hinckley-bosworth.gov.uk

South Derbyshire District Council
Civic Offices
Civic Way
Swadlincote
Derbyshire DE11 0AH

Contact: Tony Sylvester
South Derbyshire District Council
Tel: 01283 595795
Email: tony.sylvester@south-derbys.gov.uk

Lichfield District Council
District Council House
Frog Lane
Lichfield
Staffs WS13 6YU

Contact: Mrs Jenny Blair
Tel: 01543 308196
Email: jenny.blair@lichfield.gov.uk

|
|
|
|

Contact us

person

Philip Metcalfe, Green Infrastructure and Planning Officer


address icon

National Forest Company
Enterprise Glade
Bath Yard
Moira
Swadlincote
Derbyshire
DE12 6BA
United Kingdom


phone icon

+44 (0)1283 551211


email icon